M&I Leadership

HMHB is proud to honor leaders from across our state who work hard every day to improve maternal and child health in Georgia.

The Carolyn Wetzel Continuum Award
The Carolyn Wetzel Continuum Award recognizes a volunteer or health professional who contributes to the health and well being of Georgia’s families by being a positive change agent in the public arena of advocacy and policy. This award is in memory of Carolyn Wetzel, a long-time member, friend, and dedicated public health advocate for mothers and babies.

Previous Winners Include:
2018 – Igho Ofotokun, MD
2017 – Charles Johnson
2016 – Deborah Dumphy
2013 – Sandra Mobley, PhD
2012 – Carol Hendrix
2011 – Margaret Turner
2010 – Mary Nicholson-Jackson
2009 – Mary Frances Williams
2008 – Nance White
2006 – Bruce Work, MD
2004 – Daisy Harris
2002 – Charlotte Wilen – Inaugural Continuum Award

The Charlotte Wilen Maternal & Infant Health Advocate of the Year Award
The Wilen Award acknowledges the hard work and efforts of our State’s lawmakers to improve maternal and child health through policy change.

Previous Winners Include:
2018 – Representative Pat Gardner
2018 – Representative Carolyn Hugley
2018 – Representative Deborah Silcox
2018 – Senator Renee Unterman
2017 – Representative Katie Dempsey
2017 – Senator Butch Miller
2017 – Senator Jeff Mullis
2016 – Representative Darrel Ealum
2016 – Representative Sheila Jones
2016 – Senator Dean Burke
2015 – Representative Sharon Cooper

Inspiring Mothers of Georgia Awards
In 2017, we held our Inaugural Mother’s Day Luncheon honoring six First Ladies of Georgia for their efforts during their respective careers to advance maternal and child health in Georgia. We also honored six Inspiring Mothers of Georgia from across the State. HMHB continued this award in 2018 as we presented awards to six Inspiring Mothers of Georgia from across the state who embody the characteristics of Strength, Sacrifice, Caring, Compassion and Generosity.
You can learn more about our 2017 honorees by watching their interviews online.

Previous Winners Include:
2019 – Aisha Shah, Albany, GA
2019 – Damaris Henderson, Atlanta, GA
2019 – Jasmine Womack, Atlanta, GA
2019 – Kristian Postma, Dawsonville, GA
2019 – Marcia McGinnis, Dunwoody, GA
2019 – Michelle Cope, Moultrie, GA
2018 – Amy Corn, Gainesville, GA
2018 – Alisha Cromartie, Austell, GA
2018 – Faye Montgomery, Savannah, GA
2018 – Keri Norris, Atlanta, GA
2018 – Limia Obadi, Duluth, GA
2018 – Petrice Wilson, Waynesboro, GA
2017 – Britney Asbell, Kathleen, GA
2017 – Eva Elmer, Savannah, GA
2017 – Pat Hugley Green, Columbus, GA
2017 – Isabel Marsh, Snellville, GA
2017 – Jennifer Sapp, Leesburg, GA
2017 – Catrina Williams, Atlanta, GA

Want to nominate someone from your community? The 2020 nomination period is currently open, click here for more details. Questions? Email for more information.

Corporate Stewardship Awards
Previous Winners Include:
2015 – Aetna – for supporting research on the association between oral hygiene and poor birth outcomes
2003 – General Mills – for Folic Acid inclusion in cereals